On the camera scanning screen, when a user switches to "Manual" or "Auto capture", the default behaviour for the _following_ capture should use the selected capture mode.
I am scanning lots of multi page documents at present. Auto capture is *great* but I prefer to use "Manual" as it allows more confident framing. To achieve this, I find I have to select "Manual" every time; preserving the selection would reduce friction in this workflow.
An alternative proposal: allow setting a mode for the camera to open in, from Settings.